Academic Council

Academic Council brings together students, faculty, and administrators to exchange information and viewpoints on academic affairs.

Academic Council reviews documents, listens to presentations, and engages in productive discussion on academic matters with members of the college community including faculty, students, administrators, and alumni.

View our terms of reference

Meeting schedule

Academic Council meetings are held on the second Tuesday of every month from October to June.
Meetings of Academic Council are open to the public. If you are interested in attending, please contact Paula Valente at

Date Agenda Minutes
October 11, 2022 View View
November 8, 2022 View View
December 13, 2022 View  
January 10, 2023    
February 14, 2023    
March 14, 2023    
April 11, 2023    
May 9, 2023    
June 13, 2023    
Past meetings
Date Agenda Minutes
June 14, 2022 View View
May 10, 2022 View View
April 12, 2022    
March 8, 2022 View View
February 8, 2022 View View
October 12, 2021 View  
November 9, 2021 View View
December 14, 2021 View View
January 11, 2022 View View
June 8, 2021 View View
May 11, 2021 View View
April 13, 2021 View View
February 9, 2021 View View
January 12, 2021 View View
December 8, 2020 View View
November 10, 2020 View View
October 20, 2020 View View

Members for 2022-2023

Member Position
Leonce Rushubirwa Instructor (Chair)
Sandra Moore Dean, Faculty of Business, Environment and Technology (Acting Chair)
Norma Schneider Vice President, Academic
Tibetha Kimble Dean, Faculty of Arts and Sciences
Karrie Auger Manager, Indigenous Peoples Education and Strategic Initiatives 
Bev Suntjens Vice Dean, Faculty of Health Studies
Dawn Witherspoon Manager, Curriculum Development
Debbie Little Director, Admissions and Supports
Ian Howatt Director, Student Services
Jadine Sherman APM, Academic Upgrading
Saurabh Vashisht Manager, International Recruitment & Student Support
Mayme Wong Instructor
Tanya Friesen Instructor
Melanie Mattila Interim Vice President, NCFA
Desroy Headley Instructor
Jennifer Rooke Associate Chair, Academic Upgrading
Tracy Ross Instructor
Leah Poetzsch Program Lead, Integrated Training and Employment Readiness
Greg Eklics Instructor
Nicole Wong Instructor
Morgan Chalifoux Wabasca Student
Alvaro Ivan Garcia Student
Maricris Canubas Student
Annaj Pandhi Student
Dev Kumar Student
Yazmin Seade Castellanos Student
Sahil Student
Navjot Kaur Student
Diana Ramirez Student
Bridget Ayoku Student
Paula Valente Executive Advisor, Office of the Vice President Academic (Council Support)