Jaye Fredrickson Award for Teaching Excellence

The Jaye Fredrickson Award for Teaching Excellence is the highest teaching award offered at NorQuest College. The peer-nominated award upholds our mission and values by honouring teaching excellence. Award recipients must demonstrate a record of professional competence in teaching exemplified by these actions:

  • Engaging learners through exemplary facilitation
  • Supporting learners through advocacy
  • Utilizing innovative pedagogical approaches
  • Developing learning-centred curriculum materials
  • Employing fair evaluation
  • Demonstrating scholarship

Named for NorQuest College’s former vice president of academic, the Jaye Fredrickson Award for Teaching Excellence was established to honour the legacy of teaching excellence that Fredrickson inspired. It honours an individual who engages learners through exemplary facilitation, supports them through advocacy and utilizes innovative approaches to education.

2017 recipient: Carla Grant

Carla Grant is a pharmacist, educator, author, photographer, and a very busy mother. As part of the Pharmacy Technician Program team, she has been instrumental in developing curricula and ensuring quality programming and instruction that is responsive to the ever-changing provincial and national competencies. Carla strives to build curiosity and create excitement by engaging her students in a wide variety of student-centred, interactive learning activities. In their nomination letters for this award, Carla’s students singled out her enthusiasm and caring disposition; they said they felt that Carla was preparing them, not only for pharmacy practice, but for real life.

Watch Carla share the top reasons why she loves teaching at NorQuest College

Honourable Mention

Alexandru Caldararu
Instructor, Human Service Careers
Faculty of Health and Community Studies

2016 recipient: Kim Goebel

Friday, March 10, 2017 was a day to remember for NorQuest College, especially for Kim Goebel who was officially presented with NorQuest's highest teaching honour: The Jaye Fredrickson Award for Teaching Excellence. Goebel, an instructor in the Faculty of Foundational, Career & Intercultural Studies, is the latest on a list of high achieving people to receive the award, which officially recognizes the top college educator from the previous year.

Watch Kim tell her story about teaching, students, and NorQuest College

2015 recipient: Amy Abe

Amy Abe receives the 2015 aye Fredrickson Award for Teaching Excellence

Amy Abe is NorQuest College’s winner of the 2015 Jaye Fredrickson Award for Teaching Excellence.

The long-time NorQuest language training instructor in the Faculty of Faculty of Foundational, Career, and Intercultural Studies has been described as a master at her profession by her peers. She was presented with the honour at the college’s annual Faculty Jamboree on November 18.

Read more about why Amy won this year’s award

2014 recipient: Shanna Rowney

Shanna Rowney receives the 2014 aye Fredrickson Award for Teaching Excellence

NorQuest College's top teaching honour for 2014 was awarded to Shanna Rowney.

Rowney's teaching lessons are exciting and student-centred. Through her use of relevant educational technology, and careful curriculum design, the courses she teaches are exemplary.

Read more about why Shanna received the college's top teaching honour.

2013 recipient: Tracy Topolnitsky

NorQuest College foundational & intercultural studies instructor Tracy Topolnitsky is the 2013 recipient for the Jaye Fredrickson Award for Teaching Excellence. An instructor at NorQuest College for eight years, Topolnitsky thrives when learning and practicing educational technologies and their pedagogical uses. She always tries to find ways to incorporate trendy and fun technology into almost everything she does including her personal life, professional development, teaching practices and student assignments. She believes the Internet and web-based applications are tools that generate interest, engagement and attention.

Read more about Tracy Topolnitsky's award-winning year.